Books on the brain: Masked by Moonlight by Nancy Gideon

My latest review is up, and it’s amazeballs.

It is Masked by Moonlight by Nancy Gideonhence the title of this here post, hehe.  Last year, I started this series on book #2 Chased by Moonlight which was amazeballs itself.  I honestly don’t like starting a series a book or two in, but this time it paid off.  I fell in love instantly, and this series (and author) has a special place on my bookshelf.

Once I get another one or get Bo to finally make my wall ‘o books, ahem, hint hint…love you babe ;).

The world is set in New Orleans, somewhere I’ve never been but would LOVE to go to some day.  Ms. Gideon brings this town to life in a way I’ve never seen before.  You have Detective Charlotte (CeeCee) Casey, a feisty and determined, strong as shit, bad ass woman.  And you have Max Savoie, hot and sexy, slightly cocky but in a good way, shapeshifter.   When they get together, it’s fireworks ya’all.  Crazy, sexy, HOT fireworks.

It’s not your average paranormal romance though.  This is by far one of the best twists I’ve ever read.  Max has a purpose, he’s not just a shapeshifter walking around hurting people because he can, he has a job to do, people to protect, a mission to complete.  Everything is so real and believable, which I know sounds strange when shapeshifters are involved, but it is.

I could go on and on, trust me, on how amazing this series and these two characters are, but for you to really understand you have to pick up this series.  No, not just Masked by Moonlight, buy/borrow whatever,  the whole series my friend.  Trust me on this, ok?  I got ya.  I know what I’m talking about.  You will not be disappointed.

Be warned though, you will fall madly, crazy in love with Max and CeeCee.  But by book #5, Hunter of Shadows, they move to minor characters, when Silas and Monica take center stage.  I was NOT happy about that.  You can read my reviews on LE to see.  I’m here to tell you, that although I do miss them, there’s a reason the point of view switches and it’s necessary to the story.    It brings a whole new twist to what is happening, so you see another side and a bigger picture.  Genius.  Frustrating and heartbreaking, but pure genius idea.

Side note: I had the privilege of interviewing Nancy Gideon last year.  It was my first moment of start struckness -that should totally be a word- and couldn’t speak for most of the interview.  If you know me, you know that is impossible to imagine.  I don’t shut up, I talk and talk and talk.  My Daddy says I could talk a fence post to death, he forgets I get this trait from him.  So it was quite strange to not have the ability to speak.  Anyway.  She was very nice, funny and answered our questions perfectly.  I learned a lot about this series that night and it’s made me love it even more.  Her latest book, Seeker of Shadows is next on my list to read, so stay tuned for that review!

Leave a Reply

