Things that make me happy

inspire_by_famous

Good morning my lovely! It’s a beautiful, but chilly morning in my neighborhood. How about you?

As someone who suffers from chronic depression, I find it hard to remember the little things that make me happy. There are times where someone could list everything that happened in my day that was fun/happy, and I wouldn’t be able to see it. The deeper I get, the harder it is for me to see anything positive. It really sucks. Especially when this Eeyore state of mind lasts for years.

If you have depression, you know what I’m talking about. If you don’t, understand how lucky you are and hope you never have to deal with it. Not even for a second.

I decided to start reading more self help and biographies, basically anything inspiring, instead of only fiction in hopes that would help me see things differently. I’ve only read a couple, but I’ve already noticed a big difference in my mood and how I’m handling a bad day. One of the things that I’ve been doing lately, is paying attention to the little things that bring me joy. For instance, because my days are almost exactly the same, it’s easy to overlook the good and only focus on the mundane.  Anytime I start to get that ‘all I ever do is clean, there is nothing exciting in my life’ feeling, I stop, and look at my day from a different angle.  Asking myself questions about a good part of my day or coming up with things to do to make my day better. It never fails, I always find something fun and happy, it may take a few examples and it may take a few minutes, but I always start to feel better.  The more I focus on what makes me happy, the longer that happy feeling lasts.  I felt silly at first, not to mention it was super hard seeing the good aspects in my day/life, but over time it started helping me and now it’s one of my favorite new habits I’ve started.

I thought I’d share some things that make me happy in case anyone out there is struggling with a similar problem.

P.S. I’ll be writing more about the books I’ve been reading that have helped me.

  • My plants. I bought two orchids for the bathroom on a whim. I’ve had them since December and they are still alive! That inspired me to get more, so now I have a Ponytail Palm, a Z-Z plant, a Peace Lily and a Split Leaf Philodendron. They all make me smile and calm me in ways I never thought possible.
  • Painting my toes.
  • Wrapping up in a blanket on the couch and reading.
  • Coffee in the morning light.
  • The way Jocelyn has to make everything into a joke to make you laugh.
  • The way Bailey is super sweet to his sister, but hopes no one notices.
  • Kissing Bo hello everyday after work.
  • Finding shapes in fluffy clouds
  • My Bullet Journal
  • When Frost the Polar Bear can’t look at anything but me when I’m outside.
  • When Bane the Moose puts his paw out to shake even though I didn’t ask him too, and then leans his entire body into his paw so I basically have to catch him. Anytime he can lean into us, he takes it. He loves us that much.
  • When either of the dogs give me kisses.
  • Chocolate
  • Music
  • Candles and wax burners
  • A clean closet
  • Pickles
  • Journaling
  • Writing
  • Warm fuzzy socks
  • Bo’s cologne
  • Hugging the kids and smelling their heads
  • Sunrises and sunsets
  • Cuddling with Bo
  • Tv shows or youtube videos that make me laugh.
  • Seeing my family and friends smile and hearing them laugh
  • and many more

Everything in the list, happens every day or it’s something I can do every day. They are all super simple things that don’t require a lot of effort or money or even time, yet they make me feel good. Sadly they are all things I overlook when I get depressed. Strange how that works.

Honestly, I think everyone could benefit from paying attention and remembering what makes you smile. It doesn’t matter if you are depressed, grieving, worried, or even happy.  Everyone can benefit from remembering the little things.

So do me a favor. Find at least one thing about your day that made you feel good or made you smile. Hold it tight, and let it inspire the rest of your day, the rest of your week even. You will see the world in a whole new way!

 

Leave a Reply

