Books on the Brain

2017 book challenge

HAPPY FRIDAY YA’ALL!! This week has been intense and stressful for us. I’m stoked that it’s finally the weekend!! And to help me celebrate, I’m talking about books yo.

I am a bookworm. You didn’t know this about me, I know. Surprise!

Har har, I know you are rolling your eyeballs at me. It’s fine, I’m feeling slap happy this morning and I totally deserve it. I forgive you.

I decided that this year I was going to read 50 books! I average about 35 books a year, most of those being re-reads. Personally, I don’t think re-reads count, so I’m trying my best to read all new books. I’m also trying to read other genres since I tend to stick to one or two. So it’s a pretty big challenge that I’ve signed up for. EEEEE!

 

Since I really don’t have the time to go into depth for each book I’ve read so far, I’m going to list the books I have loved the most below with a short review.  I plan to talk about the rest more in detail as the year goes, promise.

First up, Unleashed by Shadows by Nancy Gideon, it’s number #10 in Gideons Moonlight series. Dude, I love this author and this series. Each book is funny, intense, romantic, scary, enlightening, etc. I swear to you, I’m in love with each couple she brings to the table, though I’m super partial to the original couple Max and Charlotte. I go all school girl crush when these two get on stage. It’s really embarrassing. You like werewolves and romance? Check this series out. TRUST ME.

The Live and Death of Anne Boleyn by Eric Ives. Ives is very logical about what he thinks happened all those years ago, there’s no drama, no Hollywood take on it like so many others like to do. He uses facts and actually thinks it through to form his opinion on what happened. Like if she really had an affair with all those men, then why don’t the accusations line up? The court documents state, if I remember correctly, a dozen or so dates where she was supposed to have been with the accused men. Yet, all but two of the dates, are proven to be physically impossible for her to have been with them. Not to mention all the other facts that he pays attention to, to prove it was all set up.  Too many authors are still saying she did it, ignoring the evidence, only because drama sells. Ives gives the people who lived through this time the respect they deserve. We need more authors like this!

The Cozy Life by Pia Edburg is where I dipped my toe into the self help book genre. The Danish hygga (pronounced hooga) concept is extremely simple, yet so so satisfying and enlightening. It’s basically remembering to smell the roses and making it a daily thing, not just a when you are having a bad day thing. Have items around you that make you happy. Do activities that make you happy. Don’t go crazy, keep it simple and as easy for you as possible. It’s weird how simple it is, and yet works wonders!

We all know Anna Kendrick is funny, but have you read her book Scrappy Little Nobody? Seriously, do it. This book had me laughing so much, that people in the kid pick up line at school was giving me weird looks. And I did not care. It’s about things she has experienced throughout her life, some of them are sad, but it’s all relatable even the auditioning stories. She’s just as uncomfy in every day life as the rest of us. She made me want to read biographies, gasp!

I was bored one day and decided to binge on Netflix. I ran across a TV series called The Last Kingdom, it’s about the early years of England when it was being ruled by multiple kings and other people were raiding the land. Hello, I was hooked on the first episode. It was by total accident that I discovered it was based on a series. Of course I had to read it. The series is by Bernard Cornwell, the main character is not based on actual person, but it is based on actual events. I am obsessed with this series and am itching to buy the other 9 so I can finish this. Like now. Also when is the next season coming to Netflix, OMG!!!!

Last, but certainly not least, The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. This book hit home in LOT of areas. Especially the part of not having a bad life per say, and yet feeling unsatisfied. She sets a goal for each month on the things she wants to work on to create her happiness. She talks about how hard it was, what she learned, and how it changed her life each month/chapter. By the end, she has learned a lot about what it means to be happy and how each of us has a unique journey to find our own version of happiness. Like The Cozy Life, I plan on re-reading this book, many times, to absorb all of it’s insight.

So there you have it. I’m so excited to see what other new gems I find this year!

What have you read lately? Tell me in the comments. I am always thankful for new suggestions.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

