2017 Book challenge – update #2

Is anyone signed up for a book challenge this year? If so, how are you doing? What are your thoughts? Find any good novels you want to share? Let me know in the comments!

Personally, I’m struggling, but it’s not a bad struggle. I’m pretty surprised that I’m enjoying this challenge, even when I get behind, like now. I’m 4 books behind schedule!!! Usually this is when I throw my hands up and say I quit, I can’t handle it. But not this time, nope, I’m like bring it on, I can do this!

So, without further ado, these are the books I’ve loved the most so far.

The Red Queen by Vivian Aveyard.  I don’t usually like novels written for teens, they don’t have the kind of heart and action I typically enjoy. But I decided to give this a try anyway and I rather enjoyed it. While it is obviously written for young adults, it still entertained me enough. I loved the X-men type feel of the powers the people have in this series. The world is pretty cool, kinda Hunger Game’s esk if you will. I even passed this on to Bailey, and he really enjoyed it, in fact he wants to read the rest of the series with me. I have read The Glass Sword, which was good as well, but The Red Queen is my favorite.

You are a Badass by Jen Sincero just might be my favorite self help book  so far. It’s funny and enlightening! I came away thinking I could try anything and it would be ok. Still hesitate at doing so, but I have found that after reading this (and probably the other’s I’ve read as well) I try things anyway and stick it out longer.

Last up, but not least, is The Dark of Twilight by Kate Danley. This is a free ebook, which is why I picked it up. I’m a sucker for free, LOL. It also is listed as a young adult novel as well, which I didn’t notice until just now. The take on werewolves in this novel is very unique, at least from what I’ve read anyway. I liked the characters and the flow was nice, though I can’t say it’s my favorite werewolf series just yet. Once I get my to read pile lower, I plan on picking up the rest of this series, there are two and are only $3.99 each so a pretty good buy.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a book calling my name.

Happy Reading!!!!

Leave a Reply

